Riffs

Editorial Board

Managing Editors

Sarah Raine, Ireland – sarah.raine@ul.ie 

Craig Hamilton, UK – craig.hamilton@bcu.ac.uk

Design Manager

Iain Taylor, UK – iain.taylor@uws.ac.uk

Peer Review Manager

David Kane, UK – david.kane@bcu.ac.uk

Social Media Manager

Deanne Kearney, Canada – dkearney@yorku.ca

Riffs|OPEN Editor

Chris Mapp, UK – Christopher.Mapp@mail.bcu.ac.uk

Book Review Editor

Sharon Kong-Perring, USA – Sharon.Kong-Perring@mail.bcu.ac.uk

Editorial board

Asya Draganova, UK

Nick Gebhardt, UK

Matt Grimes, UK

Edmund Hunt, UK

Martin Lukanov, Bulgaria

Ed McKeon, UK

Sebastian Svegaard, Denmark

Designers

Iain Taylor, Vol 5 Issue 1, Vol 4 Issues 1 & 2, Riffs|OPEN,  Riffs Reviews, and Zine Special Issues

Ian Davies Photo: Photography and Art Direction

Rosie Clark, Front cover design Vol 5 Issue 1.

Laura Chen, Vol 3 Issues 1 & 2

Rhiannon Davies, Vol 2 Issues 1 & 2

Adam Kelly-Williams: Riffs front cover design from Vol 2 Issue 2

Beth Kane, Vol 1 Issues 1 & 2 and 2017 Zine Special Issue

Issue Editors

Vol 1 Issue 1 (2017) The Quality of Sound – Nicholas Gebhardt, Birmingham City University

Vol 1 Issue 2 (2017) Songwriting – Simon Barber, Birmingham City University

Vol 2 Issue 1 (2018) Pop Music Criticism – Laura Snapes, The Guardian

Vol 2 Issue 2 (2018) Reggae Soundsystem – Simon Jones, Middlesex University

Vol 3 Issue 1 (2019) Ideas of Noise – Nicholas Gebhardt, Birmingham City University

Vol 3 Issue 2 (2019) Festivals – Sarah Raine and Craig Hamilton, Birmingham City University

Vol 4 Issue 1 (2020) Music and Technology I – Edmund Hunt, Royal Birmingham Conservatoire

Vol 4 Issue 2 (2020) Music and Technology II – Edmund Hunt, Royal Birmingham Conservatoire

Vol 5 Issue 1 (2021) Popular Music Fiction – Ash Watson, UNSW Sydney

Vol 5 Issue 2 (forthcoming Dec 2021) Popular Music Ethnographies – Shane Blackman & Rob McPherson, Christ Church Canterbury University